Login
Got something to share?
You must register as a member of the Cumbria Network to submit content:
Search
Who's online
There are currently 0 users and 0 guests online.
Strange emails wanting to buy my art
Submitted by KateB on Wed, 23/01/2008 - 20:55.
Member Plus
Has anyone else received something like this:
Hello
my name is xxx i will like to purchase some of your artwork for my daughter whose wedding is coming up very soon. i will like to inform you that i will be making payment through cashier check if this is accepted by you please kindly get back to me with your website address so as for me to choose the item needed by me.
Thanks
Sounds distinctly odd to me!
« General Discussion« back to the forums

Comments
Strange emails:
Hi, I had two of them, I asked a "nerdy" friend to have a look at them and this is his answer:
Jette
I've had a look at this and if feels spam-ish although the standard
indications are not generally present. I suspect that it is a teaser and
once you've contacted 'Sarah Gold' you'll be pressed for information to
allow identity theft. Sarah is using a yahoo account which is pretty
disposable and the e-mail comes from a legitimate yahoo server, but
that's about it. Although they (google-mail, hotmail, yahoo and the rest
try hard to stop it, it's sign-up and spam). As it's web-based the
sender can be anywhere in the world (as an example your e-mail comes
from Sweden).
Some of the other stuff that I discussed would be less useful in this
case (http://www.spamhaus.org) but it proves useful to me and uses the
honey-trap/special-database-lookup thing I was telling you about. I've
set it up here, but we've a 'proper' e-mail system based on something
called Sendmail, which is what larger organisations use (and I have to
know about for my job).
As ever, there's a wealth of information on the Internet, and if I can
be of help decoding this then let me know.
strange emails etc
This is likely to be just the first hook. They haven't even seen something they want to buy yet. Later it will involve you sending details of your account so they can send their 'payment' to you, each time getting more of your banking and personal details. I had a series of emails like this. Eventually I told them where I had a show and where they could see some work face to face. Nobody interested in real art pays for unseen work! This is a scam indeed.
Strange Emails
Hi Kate
Reference strange emails, this has got "scam" written all over it, I have had several like this email before, in my opinion, put it straight into your spam and send it to oblivion!!!
Cheers
Steve
strange emails
Hi KateB
I have not personally received such an email but I know of warnings about such to members of minigalleryworld.com (where I have my website). Warnings to be careful and not to send any money for anything such as 'bank payments so they can get their check to you'.
Maggie
Art is essentially
Art is essentially Individual..Indivdually interesting, Individually challenging and Individually engaging! In fact Individuallity Makes the Artist!
As above; also don't disclose any bank details or fall for bank draft thing where you are expected to give change, due to bank draft been made out for a greater sum than product/art work ordered!
It's a common spoof in the biking world.. A lot of people have lost there bike and money on top..
Art is essentially
Art is essentially Individual..Indivdually interesting, Individually challenging and Individually engaging! In fact Individuallity Makes the Artist!
After looking at the email again!? I can't see any problem with giving out the website address...After all it is in the public domain...If they want to pay by cashiers cheque let them...Just no shipping until the cheque has cleared...and the money seen....I note they used the foreign spelling for cheque, also strange grammar in bold, so I would be careful how much information I handed out...Identity theft works best if the mark has a business so that money is going in and out of accounts...with enough information you can open a bank account in the name of the owner of that business...
Hello my name is xxx i will like to purchase some of your artwork for my daughter whose wedding is coming up very soon. i will like to inform you that i will be making payment through cashier check if this is accepted by you please kindly get back to me with your website address so as for me to choose the item needed by me. Thanks
I've deleted it
It smelled too dodgy to me!
Thanks very much though - i'm glad its not just me getting them.
dodgy email buyers of picture and other stuff
another angle on the scam is they send you a bankers draft for too much money , then ask for a partial refund, and ofcourse the original draft then bounces
a true customer will allow plenty of time for you to clear a check and move the money from that account before you dispatch any goods
thank you
Tony Dodgson
Over 30 Years serving Arts
Studio Arts contacts Tony , Graeme , David , Kirsty , Paul
50 North Road, Lancaster, LA1 1LT Co.Reg.No. 2790288
Telephone 01524 68014
http://www.studioarts.co.uk Lancaster Arts Website